• Buy Now – click on book cover

  • Books are available at the following online book retailers

The End of Another Week

An update for my readers. I found out this week that my mom has the symptoms of ‘sundowners’. It means when she goes to bed she becomes confused, agitated and can’t sleep. Last night I had to hold her hand a good part of the night so she would go to sleep. She believes she is upside down or her body is twisted and her feet are at her head when they are in normal position then when she lifts them to her head she feels like they are laying normal.

It is terrible to see her in such a state of confusion and you cannot convince her that what she feels is wrong or not the case. She will say, “I know you’re right, I know I’m not under the bed, but I can’t help it. I feel I am and I can’t stop it.”

Has anyone dealt with this behavior? It started a few weeks ago occurring a couple of nights a week but now it is every night. If we catch it in time a Tylenol PM really helps her to fall asleep, but if she is already in the agitated state, nothing seems to work.

I feel so sorry for her and all I can do is pray. The doctor says there is no cure and it will gradually get worse usually into full dementia. That is what I am praying doesn’t happen and that God will move in her behalf. It is hard on us, but I know it is much harder on her with the panic and constant confusion.

My Mom is 87 and is so ready to meet Jesus. She’s had several glimpses into heaven and is waiting for her call. I will miss her when she goes but I know by faith I will see her again. I know she is suffering and I have released her to God’s will but only He has the time and day of her departure. It is in His hands.

If you believe in the power of fervent prayer, pray for my mom.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

