• Buy Now – click on book cover

  • Books are available at the following online book retailers

Now What?

I write this blog hoping it will be of some help to those who are going or have gone through deep grief.

Many of you know what it feels like to wake up one day and you are the only one left in your household. For those who have not experienced this feeling I ask you to use your imagination.

Imagine that everyone in your household has died, except you. Hopefully you have people around you for support and comfort.

The time will come though when the outpour of support will lessen or come to an end. Then you realize that this is real, it’s not a dream.

Now what? You have many things you must deal with. Should you move or not move. If you own your home the question of whether you should sell or not sell. In some cases that decision may be made for you based upon your financial situation. Remember, you not only lost everyone in your household, but you lost their financial support as well.

Now what? Many people are telling you not to make any major decisions for at least a year. You say to yourself, that’s okay, I’m finding it hard enough to decide what to cook for dinner or even if I will eat dinner.

Now what? There are many things that you once shared with other family members that you must learn to take care of yourself. You are learning or trying to learn how to shop and cook for just one person. The duties such as cleaning, repairs and maintenance are on your shoulders.

I don’t have to imagine the above scenario; I’m living it every day. Yes, things have changed and I can’t say I know the answer to the question “Now What?”

I remember many times Jo Ann mentioned the song they had sung at her eighth grade graduation.  Below is that song:

You’ll Never Walk Alone
by Rodgers & Hammerstein

When you walk through a storm
Keep your head up high
And don’t be afraid of the dark.

At the end of the storm is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark.

Walk on through the wind,
Walk on through the rain,
Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on, walk on with hope in your heart

And you’ll never walk alone. You’ll never walk alone. 

 

My faith in God has helped me understand that tomorrow isn’t promised to me and that He is always with me. He is not just watching as I travel on this road of life but he is walking with me. In some cases he is carrying me.

……I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

So that we may boldly say, the Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. Hebrews 13:5-6 

I’m posing the question, “Now What?” to God and I must trust His answer.

Donna Snapp

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

